Skip To Main Content


Ofsted (Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills) inspect provisions of education and skills for learners of all ages. This includes childminders, training providers, schools and local authorities, whereby they share the findings with the general public, as a means of review and regulation.

During school/academy inspections, judgements will be determined based on the following areas of focus:

  • Overall effectiveness
  • Quality of education
  • Behaviour and attitudes
  • Personal development
  • Leadership and management

Each of these areas will be graded based on a scaled grading system, with the provider obtaining an overall grade based on an overview of the 5 focus areas. The categories for grading are as follows:

  • Grade 1 (Outstanding)
  • Grade 2 (Good)
  • Grade 3 (Requires Improvement)
  • Grade 4 (Inadequate)

If a school or academy is deemed to be ‘Good’ or ‘Outstanding’, a repeat inspection will be conducted every 4 years to confirm continuation of that status. Providers graded ‘Requires Improvement’ will be reinspected within 2 years, and those graded ‘Inadequate’ must take immediate action.

You can find our academy report at: