PRIDE Talks

The aim of this project is to build students’ self-confidence in public speaking. Students will be asked to talk for five minutes on an area that interests them. They can use a PowerPoint presentation of up to seven slides if they wish. The students will be supported at all stages. In preparation for their final presentation the students will have the opportunity to present to audiences of different sizes.

Villiers Park

We are working in conjunction with Villiers Park Educational Trust. Villiers Park work with students who are identified as having high academic potential, to promote the fair access to university of under-represented groups from Hastings and Bexhill, through the Scholars Programme. To widen the benefits of the programme they have developed Villiers Park Involve; a method of working through Scholars, to share advantages that come with the Scholars Programme, with a greater number of students with high academic potential in the area.

Support Sessions and dates

Villiers Park Scholars will deliver academic support sessions at the Hastings Academy, in addition the Villiers Park Programme Manager and school staff will be available to run academic surgeries when requested by students.

Each of our six Support Sessions will run twice to allow for students to attend one of these sessions around their other commitments. In these sessions Sussex Coast College Scholars will work with our students to develop, plan and practise their presentation. All Support Sessions will be supervised by Hastings Academy staff. In the first session, the Sussex Coast College Scholars will address fears around public speaking and introduce ideas that can reduce anxiety. Students will discuss what a PRIDE Talk is and look at examples of great public speaking. Finally, with their allocated scholar, students will discuss their ideas and look at how they might develop these.

Dates – please attend on a Monday or Thursday (3pm-4pm) Overview
Session 1: Mon 19th February, Thurs 22nd February The Intro - What is a PRIDE Talk?; dealing with anxiety; investigating ideas
Session 2: Mon 5th March, Thurs 8th March The Template Developing ideas; draft subject/speech templates
Session 3: Mon 26th March, Thurs 29th March The Planning Expand/complete speech templates; decide on your slides
Session 4: Mon 16th April, Thurs 19th April The Presentation Refine slides and speech; time speech and slides together
Session 5: Mon 30th April, Thursday 3rd May First Practice Further techniques to deal with anxiety, practice sessions with scholar
Session 6: Mon 14th May, Thursday 17th May Second Practice Practice session with groups
Session 7: Mon 21st May (during school time) The Rehearsal
Wed 23rd May PRIDE Talks Conference The final presentations. Times tbc.