The Academy is part of the University of Brighton Academies Trust, a multi-academy trust which is sponsored by the University of Brighton.

The trust’s Board of Trustees is ultimately responsible for the educational and financial performance of all of the academies in the trust; the trustees are the statutory governors of each academy and the company directors & charitable trustees of the University of Brighton Academies Trust.

Further information about the University of Brighton Academies Trust’s governance arrangements, including its Board of Trustees, Scheme of Delegation, Articles of Association and Funding Agreement, are available on the trust’s website.

A series of committees, including a Local Board for each academy (or group of academies), supports the Board of Trustees in fulfilling its responsibilities.

The Federated Local Board of The Hastings and St. Leonards Academy

Local Board members are volunteers representing different aspects of the academy community including parents/carers, staff and local people. The members contribute to the academy’s vision and future strategy, ensuring they complement the trust’s vision and values. They are responsible for keeping the academy at the heart of the community, maintaining strong community links and effective communication with all stakeholders, including the Board of Trustees. Local Board members ensure the celebration of staff, pupils and parents and carers is a priority to the academy. They are also responsible for monitoring pupil wellbeing, admissions, complaints and concerns.

Local Board members can be contacted through email at or in writing c/o the Academy. Local Board meeting minutes are available on request.

Five co-opted members nominated by the Local Board: Rose Durban - Chair of the Local Board
Andy Davy
Leo Sutton
Two parent representatives, elected by the parents of each Academy: The Hastings Academy - Anita Pope, Parent & Community Engagement Link member
St. Leonards Academy - Vacancy
Two staff representatives elected by the staff of each Academy: The Hastings Academy - Nathan Russell
St. Leonards Academy - Pauline Edwards
Academy Principals: The Hastings Academy - Hilary Morawska
St. Leonards Academy - Hannah Carter (Acting Principal)
Clerk to the Local Board: Caroline Spender
Contribute to education in your community.
Rose Durban


I live locally and want to contribute to making a difference locally and can’t think of a better way than to help contribute to changing young people’s learning and life-chances across The St Leonards Academy and The Hastings Academy. I come with experience of working on behalf of vulnerable children and young people and their families within and across the education, health and voluntary sectors which complements the wealth of skills, expertise and support other Local Board members bring. Our job is to champion student’s well-being, learning and achievement in each of our schools.

In my experience, what children and families say they need is simple and powerful:

I tell my story once

Support and services join up around me

People do what they say

I feel better, safer, able to learn and achieve

I believe that every student at each of our academies has the right to be safe and cared for, succeed in learning, thrive and mature into adulthood, able to contribute to the economy and their community in a positive way. I’ve been hugely impressed on at the passion and commitment from everyone who works at The Hastings Academy and The St Leonards Academy to make this a daily reality for students.

We should think big for young people, believe in them, and work together so that their rights are realised, their views shape decisions made about their lives and they respect the rights of others. Together, as a Local Board we can and want to contribute to helping school leaders in their work to make sure young people are safe, happy and healthy, learning and achieving well and with a bright future.

I am pleased and proud to be chair of our federated Local Board. Please do get in touch via any of the academies if you want to contact me.

Nathan Russell

Staff Member

Nathan has worked as a Maths Teacher at The Hastings Academy since 2016 and was appointed to the Local board in 2017. He studied Mathematics at Cardiff University, graduating in 2009, worked for ESCC within Disability Services for a number of years before finding his passion for Teaching

Jessica Snyder

Parent member

Hilary Morawska

Principal of The Hastings Academy

I am delighted to be the Principal of what is known and respected, within the Hastings and Rother communities as a Good school. I joined The Hastings Academy as Vice Principal in April 2016 and worked alongside its Principal, staff, parents and students to create the successful ethos and culture evidenced today. I have been in leadership roles since 2004 and bring a wealth of experience. Having developed excellent relationships with colleagues within our Trust and East Sussex County Council, alongside the exceptional work of our Hastings Academy staff, we are well placed to build on the outstanding results of our recent Ofsted and GCSE results. It will be a pleasure to ensure that we continue to provide the best education, outcomes and future, for all our stakeholders.